Contact: Dean Jackson Office of Public Information
Phone: 770.254.2736
Fax: 770.254.2807

February 15, 2018

Lee Middle Teams wins Regional Mathcounts competition

The Lee Middle School Math Team took first place at the West Georgia regional Mathcounts competition at the University of West Georgia on February 9, earning the team a spot at the state finals.

This is the fifth consecutive 1st place finish for the school. The team consisted of students Michael An, Matthew Nix, Do-kyong McDonald, Nathan White, Andrew Brown, Beomseok Kang, Alex Carroll, Lyong-kyong McDonald. Jiho Oh and Alex Carroll, and was sponsored by teachers Lynette Hanus and Staci Kelly. The team competed against the 40 students of the school’s math club to earn their spots on the competition team.

Mathcounts competition is made up of three rounds, including Sprint (testing quickness to solve problems), Target (testing problem-solving skills) and Team (testing teamwork abilities). Of the 110 students at the regional competition, Michael An took 2nd place in the Individual Competitor category with the 2nd highest total score.

Mathcounts also includes a high-pressure Countdown Round, where competitors must solve mathematics problems in 45 seconds or less without a calculator and before a fellow competitor gives the correct answer. The top 8 finishers compete in this round. Three of those top 8 finishers came from the Lee Middle School team, including Michael An, Matthew Nix and Andrew Brown. Making it through to the final round was Andrew Brown who took home 2nd Place in the Countdown Round.

Michael An, Do-kyong McDonald, Matthew Nix and Nathan White will travel on March 19 to compete as the West Georgia Region’s team at the State Level Competition. Team member Andrew Brown finished strongly as well and will travel with them to compete

Lee MS Mathworks Team

The Lee Middle School Math Team took first place at the February 9West Georgia regional Mathcounts competition. The team, above, includes, left to right, front row, Nathan White, Jiho Oh, Matthew Nix, Beomseok Kang; back row Do-kyong McDonald, Andrew Brown, Lyong-kyong McDonald, Michael An, Luke Beam, Alex Carroll